The International Sketchbook Project Info

January 28, 2009

What’s The project about?

If you have any additional questions please use the comments section, and I will answer you as soon as I am able. This project was inspired by our local blank book project after trying to rally artists and resources for the book to hit D.C. It hit me “what is” we tried to go international with a blank sketchbook?

What is the International Sketch Book Project?
For 800 days, a sketchbook will be sent from Northern VA to 50 illustrators/designers around the world. Each artist in a new country must put their design in the sketchbook and send it on to the next person in the next country. The book will start its rotation in March of 2009 and be returned back to Northern VA after the last entry has been made.

Who can participate?
The first 60 illustrators/designers to sign up. When signing up, I will need your name, actual address, and a phone number. I will not share any of this information with anybody. This information is to be used to create a shipping list. I would also like a link to your portfolio, blog or sharing account like Flickr.

How much will it cost to participate?
You will be responsible to pay the total shipping cost to the next artist in the next country.

What if I sign up, but can’t participate when the book arrives?
Due to the process involved in getting this book from illustrator to illustrator, we ask for dedicated participants only. If the book arrives during an emergency situation and you are unable to participate, you may forward the book to the next participant. This will be strictly handled on a case-by-case basis.

Is there a theme for this book?
Yes. I want you to illustrate something that is significant to your country or specific geographic location. This will give the other participants the opportunity to visually experience your part of the world.

How many pages do I get?
Each illustrator is given 4 pages in the book (2 pages, front and back). The first page being a hand written introduction, the second, third and fourth pages will be used for the composition.

Are there any restrictions pertaining to the type of medium I may use?
No, but please be aware that the pages in the book are made up of a medium weight paper and will curl and buckle if certain types of wet medium are used. Also please keep in mind that pastels, chalks, or any other medium that will smudge should be protected with some type of fixative.

How can I protect my pages within the book?
We will be providing thin sheets of vellum in the shipping box that will accompany the book. Please place a sheet of vellum between the pages prior to shipping to the next illustrator.

Once I finish, to whom do I ship the book?
We will be providing a list of participants to accompany the book in the shipping box. Each illustrator will place a line through their name once the book arrives, and after completion, forward the book to the next person on the list.

What is going to happen to the book when it’s completed?
The book will be digitally published to PDF and placed on a new website dedicated to the International sketchbook project for the world to see. We may seek other venues to show the book.

Where can I go to see the progress of this project?
We will be posting the progress on this blog and the new website (that the URL will be posted on soon). We strongly encourage all participants to shoot a teaser shot of their work along with a shot of themselves holding or standing next to the project’s case  prior to sending off to the next participant, then email the images to be posted on this site.

Are there going to be other blank book projects?
Yes. I hope to keep doing a new rotation internationally twice a year.

28 Responses to “The International Sketchbook Project Info”


  1. I’m in!

    2710 Williamsburg Street, 402
    Alexandria, VA 22314
    703.960.0616

  2. milashale Says:

    I want participate in this project. Please send me all propositions.

  3. Bob Says:

    I am not getting how to sign up.

  4. Soo Says:

    I would like to do this! how do i join? (i live in Sweden)


  5. I’m interested, please keep me informed.

  6. matt Says:

    i am interested in this. i’ll be in seoul for the next couple of years anyway.

  7. anett Says:

    I am interested,please let me know,thanks
    anett

  8. anett Says:

    I am interested,please let me know,thanks,I am in Cape Town,thanks,anett

  9. olkazavr Says:

    I’d like to take a part!

  10. Nicola Says:

    I’d love to take part,please let me know.(UK)

  11. Jon Hall Says:

    Love to participate!

    2940 B Street
    San Diego, CA 92102
    949.690.7898


  12. Hello, I live in Portugal in the North of the country in Porto city. and i’am avaible to participate!


  13. I want participate in this project too!

    Tirqo from Barcelona
    tirsotl@gmail.com


  14. I’m very interested! Please contact me! 😀


  15. Hello – I would love to participate!
    Alexandra Sternin, Geneva Switzerland. Please send an email and I will forward my address, phone etc.
    Thank you!
    alex
    astring75@yahoo.com

  16. Lisa Bradley Says:

    I would love to be a part of this very exciting project!! – please send me details so I may be involved!! I live in Glasgow, Scotland.


  17. I’m an architect, from Sao Paulo, Brazil!
    Very interested!

  18. Jeannie Says:

    I’m so in! Please email me more information!

  19. Leisa Says:

    I’ll go for it! Please send me more info.

    Leisa

  20. Anna Willard Says:

    I am interested and would love to participate!

    13510 Ellendale Drive
    Chantilly, Va 20151

  21. Tom Hovey Says:

    Hey there,

    I’m really interested, how do i Join and sign up?


  22. I am a highschool art instructor and artist. I would like to sign up. Thanks Vicki Robison


  23. Hello I’m from México and would like to join I’ll send my info to the mail i read in fickr too.

  24. Uganda Lebre Says:

    I’m from Lisbon and would love to get onboard!!!

  25. Kelcey Says:

    I would love to participate.

  26. Karin Says:

    If it is still possible I would like to join up!

  27. Lina Says:

    I’m from Colombia, is there still a chance to participate??


Leave a Reply

